Disorderly conduct is a broad law and many behaviors could qualify under this Oregon criminal statute. For this reason, you may have been initially surprised when you found out you were being charged with a crime.
Disorderly conduct is an offense that is charged in Oregon when police believe someones behavior is out of hand or disruptive. These arrest and prosecutions decisions are usually very subjective, and can come down to whether or not you were personally annoying to that particular police officer. So whether you were exercising your right of free speech and free expression, by celebrating your team’s victory, or got caught up in an argument, you can be charged with this criminal offense for a variety of reasons. We are interested in how you got into this situation and are interested in helping you get out of it.
We recognize that all of our clients have different needs and we seek to treat every case with the individual attention it deserves. Although we are experienced, we never take our clients for granted.
We want to lend you our expertise and help you get the results you want in court.
Oregon Disorderly Conduct Laws
First Degree Disorderly Conduct
Disorderly conduct in the 1st degree is the most serious disorderly conduct charge. You may be charged with this offense if the prosecution has reason to believe you acted with the intent to cause public inconvenience, annoyance, or alarm or if you created the risk of annoyance or alarm by initiating or circulating a false report of hazardous substance or an impending fire of explosion.
Calling in a fake bomb threat is a common example of this offense.
1st degree disorderly conduct is a Class A misdemeanor that carries a potential sentence of one year in jail and fines reaching $6250.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat.§ 166.023
Second Degree Disorderly Conduct
The most common and also most broad disorderly conduct offense, disorderly conduct in the 2nd degree includes many actions. Because the law is so broad, it can seem somewhat confusing. Consulting with our experienced defense attorneys can clear up any questions you might have about the law or your case in specific.
You may be charged with 2nd degree disorderly conduct if you are accused of trying to cause public inconvenience, annoyance, or alarm or creating a risk of those things by:
a. Fighting or engaging in violent or threatening behavior
b. Making unreasonable noise,
c. Disturbing a lawful assembly,
d. Obstructing traffic in public,
e. Congregating with other people in public and refusing a police order to disperse,
f. Initiating or circulating a false report concerning fire, explosion, or other emergency, or
g. Creating a hazardous or physically offensive condition by any act which you are not privileged to do.
Disorderly conduct in the 2nd degree is a Class B misdemeanor and punishable by up to 6 months in jail and fines reaching $2500.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §166.025
Charged with Disorderly Conduct? Free Legal Case Evaluation on this Oregon Offense
Facing any criminal charge is stressful and also somewhat frightening. We want to help you work our your options, and fix this legal situation as quickly and effectively as possible, with the minimal damage to your future and your pocketbook. Call us for a free consultation. We look forward to offering our help.