Drug possession charges are all too common in the Oregon court system. We know this because we have defended many clients against drug charges. We want to defend you.
Possession of a controlled substance can bring you hefty fines and result in a lengthy prison sentence, in the serious drug possession cases.
Even the most minor drug possession offenses are serious criminal charges that can result in permanent mark on your record. That criminal record can affect your for life.
We can help you wade through the court process, and determine what your best defense options are.
You are likely feeling serious regret about having drugs on you when you were originally arrested. Maybe, however, you weren’t aware there were drugs in your vehicle and feel like you have been wrongly accused. Whatever the case, we can help.
Oregon Drug Possession Laws
Drugs in Oregon are classified according to “Schedule”. This system helps lawmakers group controlled substances by how dangerous they are.
Schedule I drugs include those that are the most dangerous and have a high risk of addiction or dependency and no legitimate medical use. Drugs included under this heading include LSD, marijuana, heroin, mescaline, and peyote.
Schedule III drugs are slightly less dangerous than Schedule II substances, but still have a moderate risk of abuse. Schedule III substances include hydrocodone, codeine, anabolic steroids, testosterone, ketamine, and some depressants.
Schedule IV drugs have a slight risk of dependency and have very acceptable medical uses. Some Schedule IV drugs are clonazepam, some tranquilizers, and sedatives.
Schedule V substances have a very low risk of dependency and include things like prescription drugs with very low potency.
Oregon Drug Possession Penalties
The charge you face for possession depends on the controlled substance or drug you were caught in possession of.
The following chart shows what charge you would face and the maximum potential penalties under Oregon drug laws.
|Classification of Drug||Charge||Potential Sentence|
|Schedule I (excluding marijuana)||Class B felony||Up to 10 years in prison and $100,000 in fines|
|Schedule II||Class C felony||Up to 5 years in prison and $100,000 in fines|
|Schedule III||Class A misdemeanor||Up to 1 year in jail and $2,500 in fines|
|Schedule IV||Class C misdemeanor||Up to 30 days in jail and $500 in fines|
|Schedule V||Violation (non criminal)||$250 fine|
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §475
Need Help with a drug Possession Charge? Free legal consultation in OR
Facing jail time and a criminal drug conviction is no easy thing. You want to be certain that you select a skilled and aggressive attorney willing to fight for you in the courts.
Find out if our lawyers might be the best drug possession defense lawyers in Oregon for you.
We are ready to hear about your case and ready to get to work on it. Call today to discuss the specifics of your charges and hear how we can help.