Being charged with an Oregon property damage crime like criminal mischief is a stressful and difficult legal problem. If you are like most people, and have never imagined facing criminal charges before, this can be a stressful and trying point in your life. An experienced and knowledgeable Oregon defense attorney can help guide you through the process and put your mind at ease.
And of course, we will fight to protect your rights, and get you the best possible outcome in court.
Oregon 3rd Degree Criminal Mischief- Laws & Penalties
Criminal mischief in the 3rd degree is when you interfere or tamper with the property of another with the intent to cause substantial inconvenience to the owner or someone else. This offense is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and fines reaching $1250.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat.§ 164.345
Oregon 2nd Degree Criminal Mischief – Laws & Penalties
Criminal Mischief in the 2nd degree is when you commit criminal mischief as described above: “interfere or tamper with the property of another with the intent to cause substantial inconvenience to the owner or someone else”, and this results in property damage valued at more than $100, or if you intentionally damage someone else’s property and the damage exceeds $100.
Criminal mischief in the 2nd degree is a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by up to one year in jail and fines of $6250.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §164.354
Oregon 1st Degree Criminal Mischief – Laws & Penalties
There are several incidences that can lead to a charge of criminal mischief in the 1st degree. You may be charged with this serious felony offense if you do any of the following with intent to damage property:
1. Damage property of another in an amount over $750
2. By explosive
3. By starting a fire at an institution you are confined in (hospital, jail)
4. Damage property that is livestock
5. Damage property that is public utility or similar, or
6. Interfere with utilities or telecommunications carriers.
Criminal mischief in the first degree is a Class C felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and fines of $125,000.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §164.365
Reckless Burning Laws & Penalties
Reckless burning is another serious property crime. You may be charged with this offense if you recklessly damage the property of another person by fire or explosion. This is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and fines reaching $6250.
Ref: or. Rev. Stat. §164.335
2nd Degree Arson
Arson in the second degree is a felony charge that you may be arrested on if you intentionally damage one of the following by starting a fire or explosion:
1. Someone else’s building that is not considered “protected”,
2. Any property of another where the damage exceeds $750, or
3. When the fire which destroys the property is from the manufacture of methamphetamines.
Arson in the 2nd degree is a Class C felony charge that carries a potential sentence of up to 5 years in prison and fines up to $125,000.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat §164.315
1st Degree Arson
Arson in the first degree is an extremely serious crime. You may be charged with this if you intentionally start a fire or explosion that intentionally damages:
a. Protected property of another
b. Any property (including your own) where the fire places someone in danger of physical injury or places the protected property of another in danger, or
c. Any property (including your own) where the fire causes injury to a firefighter or peace officer acting in their line of duty.
First degree arson is a Class A felony and is punishable by up to 20 years in prison and fines reaching $375,000.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §164.325
Need Legal Help? Free Consultation for Anyone Facing Criminal Charges in Oregon
Serious criminal charges need a dedicated and experienced defense attorney. We take your case and concerns and make them our own. We know you are under stress and rely on your attorney to assist you in making things better. Call today to see how we can help.