Domestic violence related criminal cases are difficult everyone involved. Because of the relationships between the parties, the level of stress and emotions is heightened. If you are accused of charges like these, you need an attorney willing to do the work for you, to make sure your rights are protected in a complicated legal situation.
Criminal cases involving family can be tough. You may be wondering how this will not only affect your future freedom but also your rights as a parent. The truth is, it could negatively impact both.
But domestic violence offenses in Oregon are not always what they seem to be. A domestic assault arrest often happens before anyone ever hears your side of the story. We can aggressively defend your case in the Oregon criminal courts and we can help ensure you walk out of court with the best results possible.
Whether you made a mistake in anger that you now deeply regret, or if you are innocent of the charges, we can help. We all make mistakes and this may be one of yours. You may feel ashamed and scared and wonder if anyone is on your side. We know what you are going through and want to lend our expertise.
Call us today to discuss your domestic violence charges and see how we can help.
What is a Domestic Relationship?
Oregon law defines domestic relationships as those between spouses, ex-spouses, two people who share a child, two people who live together or have lived together in the past two years, or people who are related by blood or marriage.
Oregon Domestic Violence Offenses – Charges & Penalties
There are many offenses that are common in domestic cases. Some of the more common domestic offenses and their potential penalties include:
|Menacing (threats)||Class A misdemeanor||Up to 1 year in jail and fines of $6250.|
|Stalking||Class A misdemeanor||Up to 1 year in jail and fines of $6250.|
|4th degree Assault||Class A misdemeanor||Up to 1 year in jail and fines of $6250.|
|3rd Degree Assault||Class C felony||Up to 5 years in prison and $125,000 in fines.|
|2nd Degree Assault||Class B felony||Up to 10 years in prison and $250,000 in fines.|
|1st Degree Assault||Class A felony||Up to 20 years in prison and $375,000.|
In addition to the specific criminal charges you may face, you also have to worry about domestic violence protection orders and additional sanctions.
Domestic Violence Restraining Order
A restraining order can be issued by an Oregon court as soon as a domestic violence case is allegedly initiated or sometimes when no criminal charges are present. Your victim can request a restraining order be placed against you and the judge will hear their reasons for it.
A restraining order like this can limit your location and proximity to the alleged victim, can keep you out of your home and even award temporary custody or keep you away from your children.
What else can happen as a result of a domestic violence charge?
In addition to any criminal penalties, a domestic violence conviction can affect you long into the future. It can show up on background checks indefinitely and affect your chances at employment and housing. A domestic violence charge could cause you to lose professional licenses and the respect of many people. You will also no longer be allowed to get a firearm license.
Even a restraining order can show up on a background check.
And unlike other criminal convictions, a domestic violence conviction cannot be expunged. It will be with you for life.
Free Legal Defense Consultation on Domestic Violence Related Criminal Offenses in Oregon
These charges are extremely stressful and far reaching. When facing something as serious as this you want to be certain your attorney is ready to work hard on your case and defending you. We are dedicated to our clients and hope to have the opportunity to show you.
Call today for a consultation on your criminal domestic violence accusation and charges.