There are several offenses concerning weapons under Oregon law. If you have been charged with any illegal gun possession or related charge, you may be facing jail time and costly fines. Call today to discuss the specifics of your case and see how we can help.
Judges come down hard on people who are convicted of weapons offenses. Your situation and the circumstance surrounding your case may have been misinterpreted or blown out of proportion. And even if you may have violated Oregon’s strict gun laws, this doesn’t mean you are a violent criminal.
Whether you are completely innocent of the charges against you or if you did something you now regret, we can help ensure you get the fair treatment you deserve when in the Oregon criminal court system.
Unlawful Use of a Weapon
You may be charged with unlawful use of a weapon for two different reasons:
- Carrying a dangerous or deadly weapon with intent to use it unlawfully against another or actually attempting to use it unlawfully against another, or
- Intentionally discharging a firearm, crossbow, bow and arrow, blow gun, or explosive device within the city limits.
This offense is a Class C felony and carries a potential sentence of up to 5 years in prison and fines reaching $125,000.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. § 166.220
Carrying a Concealed Weapon
Carrying a concealed weapon concerns weapons like switchblades, metal knuckles, ice picks, daggers, or any similar objects. If you are charged with carrying a concealed weapon, you face Class B misdemeanor charges and a potential sentence of 6 months in jail and $2000 in fines.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. § 166.240
Unlawful Possession of a Firearm
There are several reasons possession of a firearm may be unlawful. Those include:
- Carrying a firearm concealed on your person,
- Possessing a concealed handgun in a vehicle that is immediately accessible,
- Possessing a firearm and being under the age of 18,
- Possessing a firearm and having a felony conviction on your record.
Unlawful possession of a firearm is a Class A misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to one year in jail and fines up to $6250.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §166.250
We know about the fear and stress that comes with any criminal charge. We want to help put your mind at ease and get you the best possible results in court. Give us a call today to discuss your case. We’ll talk over the situation, and let you know what you are up against, and how we can help solve this problem, and put in behind you.