Leaving the scene of an accident in Oregon (hit and run) can be a serious criminal offense. You could face hefty fines, loss of driver’s license, and even possible jail time if you are convicted of this charge.
Any auto accident can leave you feeling pretty shook up. You probably weren’t thinking clearly after it happened and panicked.
But if you left the scene after an accident, you may have committed a crime. And though I’m sure you didn’t intend to break the law, you are now facing serious criminal charges.
We know what a stress this can be because we have defended many hit and run cases in the state of Oregon. We know what you are up against and want to use our experience and aggressiveness in the court room to help you fix this problem, as easily and painlessly as possible.
Whatever happened, whether you made a mistake, or are being unfairly charged, you deserve and need to have someone with experience on your side when you case goes to trial. Call us to discuss the specifics of your case and the accident that led to your current charges.
Duties Following an Accident in Oregon
If you are involved in an accident you are legally required to immediately stop and return to the scene. You are also required to give the other driver your information such as registration and insurance information.
If you hit a parked car, you are still required to stop and try to find the owner. If you can’t locate the owner then you are to leave your information in a visible place, like the windshield.
If someone is injured in the accident you are also required by law to lend them reasonable assistance. This means helping them as best you can and assisting them in getting treatment by calling an ambulance or assisting them with transportation.
If you fail to follow these duties, you can be charged with hit and run also called “failure to perform duties following an accident”.
Auto Accidents involving only property damage
If you leave the scene and the accident only resulted in property damage, the charge you face is a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and fines reaching $6250.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §811.700
Auto Accidents Involving Injury – Oregon Laws & Penalties
If you leave the scene and there were injuries as a result of the accident you face a harsher penalty. Hit and run involving injuries is a Class C felony. Class C felonies are punishable by up to 5 years in prison and fines reaching $125,000.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §811.705
You may even receive a ticket if you leave the scene of an accident that you were merely a witness to!
If you are facing hit and run charges in the Oregon criminal courts, you want to be certain you have chosen the right attorney for the job. Your case deserves the personal attention and hard work that we are willing to give it.
We will diligently work to get you positive results in court and to aggressively defend your good name!