Though criminal theft and shoplifting offenses are quite common, that doesn’t mean the penalties are not strict. If you have been charged with theft, make your next move a phone call to us for a consultation on your case.
Whether you are charged with shoplifting or theft of services, you could be sent to jail and ordered to pay serious fines and restitution. An experienced defense lawyer in you corner will help you be certain you have the best chance for a good result in court.
We have handled many theft cases in Oregon. We know the system and realize you may be scared of the possible outcome.
Most people are extremely upset and embarrassed to be accused of shoplifting or any theft charge. We understand what you are going through, and can help. Trust in the experience and personal attention you get from the right lawyer.
There may be a good explanation for your alleged crime. Perhaps you forgot to pay for an item or believed something was yours. You may have been wrongly accused and feel like getting the charges dropped is the only just outcome.
Whether your actions were misinterpreted or if you did something you now regret, we want to know. In order to help you, we need to hear about your case and the specifics. Then we can work with you and the courts to fight for the best outcome.
Contact our attorneys to find out exactly how we can help.
Oregon Theft Laws
Theft is defined as intentionally depriving someone of their personal property by:
- Taking, appropriating, obtaining, or withholding property from the owner,
- Keeping lost, mislaid, or property delivered in error,
- Receiving, retaining, or keeping property you have a good reason to believe was stolen,
- Depriving someone of their property through deception, or
- Keeping property of someone else by extortion or threat.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §164.015
The exact charge and possible penalties you face depends on the value of the property in question.
Oregon Theft Penalties
Theft, 3rd Degree
Third degree theft involves theft of property valued at less than $50. This offense is a Class C misdemeanor and carries a potential sentence of up to 30 days in jail and $1250 in fines.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §164.043
Theft, 2nd Degree
Second degree theft is concerning property valued at less than $750 in most cases. This offense is a Class A misdemeanor and carries a potential sentence of up to 1 year in jail and fines of $6250.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §164.045
Theft, 1st Degree
Theft in the 1st degree is another serious theft charges and applies to theft involving property valued at more than $750, or
a. Theft committed during a riot, explosion, fire, or other catastrophe,
b. Theft committed concerning buying, trading, or selling on the security of property,
c. The property involved is livestock or
d. The property involved is firearms or explosives.
This theft offense is a Class C felony and is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and $125,000 in fines.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §164.055
Aggravated Theft in the 1st Degree
Aggravated theft in the 1st degree is the most serious of theft charges and involves the theft of property valued at over $10,000 (other than personal vehicles). This offense is a Class B felony and is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and $250,000 in fines.
Ref: Or. Rev. Stat. §164.057
Free Legal Consultation on an Oregon Shoplifting, Theft, or Aggravated Theft Offense
Any criminal theft offense is a serious legal matter. And if you are at risk of spending time behind bars, it is a frightening prospect for anyone. We know what you are going through and want to fight for you, to get the best possible outcome in court. A result that is fair, and that you can live with.